Subspace Hockey/Football Zone Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Windows 10 + Continuum  (Read 3477 times)

Bucky

  • the dude
  • Forum Administrator
  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Windows 10 + Continuum
« on: June 16, 2015, 10:41:25 PM »

Installed Build 10130 and I am having issues with only Continuum. Frame rate is ~30 FPS.

If I run it in compatibility mode I get around 10 FPS.

Also having audio issues. When minimized I get alarm's from PM's but in game nothing is making a peep.

Anyone run into this issue?
« Last Edit: June 16, 2015, 11:02:55 PM by Bucky »
Logged
interference - blackie cup champions - xvii | xix | xxi

BluckaBlucka

  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2015, 12:30:21 AM »

open continuum (not join a zone) go to view options go to colors switch to 16 instead of 32

go to view advanced options disable everything at the top enable the avoid page flipping , no frame limit , show default resolutions and disable clipping

when logged into hockey zone open task manager and set priority to high.

Maybe even run as administrator

that is all I got I haven't tried WIN 10 continuum but I had issues with a lot of my other games took a long time to configure it properly.

Sadly this game will require us to fix it instead of looking for help on google.
Logged
Hey, I am the greatest; hey, this is the proof
Hey, I work hard, pray hard, pay dues, hey
I transform with pressure; I'm hands-on with effort
I fell twice before; my bounce back was special
Letdowns will get you, and the critics will test you
But the strong will survive; another scar may bless you

Bucky

  • the dude
  • Forum Administrator
  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2015, 12:58:44 AM »

Sadly, none of that worked.

Another thing that will be an issue for Googling possible fixes is that Windows 10 has a new feature called Continuum which will dominate the search results.
Logged
interference - blackie cup champions - xvii | xix | xxi

BluckaBlucka

  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2015, 01:24:12 AM »

It seems really weird compatibility mode doesn't work since that just makes the game run an instance of winxp or w/e you set it to.

Guess Continuum not ready to run on Win10
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 01:26:14 AM by BluckaBlucka »
Logged
Hey, I am the greatest; hey, this is the proof
Hey, I work hard, pray hard, pay dues, hey
I transform with pressure; I'm hands-on with effort
I fell twice before; my bounce back was special
Letdowns will get you, and the critics will test you
But the strong will survive; another scar may bless you

Nax

  • Making a Name
  • *
  • Posts: 188
  • ______________
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2015, 06:00:22 AM »

Don't have win 10 either, but try View > Advanced Options > Software Emulation on/off to see if that alone makes a difference. It was a workaround for many people when win 7 came out.

Edit: Or was it vista? I don't remember, it was a while ago.
Logged

BluckaBlucka

  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2015, 12:47:47 PM »

I'd suggest re-imaging maybe it was a bad/improper install. If that doesn't work just dual boot until a better/stable build comes out. It is like 50/50 when you search forums for FPS drop on Win10.
Logged
Hey, I am the greatest; hey, this is the proof
Hey, I work hard, pray hard, pay dues, hey
I transform with pressure; I'm hands-on with effort
I fell twice before; my bounce back was special
Letdowns will get you, and the critics will test you
But the strong will survive; another scar may bless you

Bucky

  • the dude
  • Forum Administrator
  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2015, 06:01:03 PM »


Don't have win 10 either, but try View > Advanced Options > Software Emulation on/off to see if that alone makes a difference. It was a workaround for many people when win 7 came out.

Edit: Or was it vista? I don't remember, it was a while ago.

Does not fix this.


Blucka - I've reinstalled this build multiple times. My major concern here is that if this issue happens to other players on Windows 10 when it drops that they will just stop playing. Someone will find a fix hopefully.  I've tried several things that have not lead to making it any better.
Logged
interference - blackie cup champions - xvii | xix | xxi

BluckaBlucka

  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #7 on: June 17, 2015, 06:17:50 PM »

It is not just continuum. I've searched Windows 10 FPS drops and the community seems to be 50/50 as far as who gets FPS drops and who doesn't.

I can't think of anything that would cause FPS drops maybe windows defender or something stupid being on and running.
Logged
Hey, I am the greatest; hey, this is the proof
Hey, I work hard, pray hard, pay dues, hey
I transform with pressure; I'm hands-on with effort
I fell twice before; my bounce back was special
Letdowns will get you, and the critics will test you
But the strong will survive; another scar may bless you

Bucky

  • the dude
  • Forum Administrator
  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #8 on: June 17, 2015, 06:44:55 PM »

Yeah something changed in the recent builds to break it. I read that some games with FPS issues launched them fine through the nVidia Game Center.

My Steam games have worked fine. We are due for a new beta build, maybe that will resolve this.
Logged
interference - blackie cup champions - xvii | xix | xxi

Thrill HZ

  • Spaceship Commentator
  • RSHL Captain
  • Out of Control
  • *
  • Posts: 8696
  • All stat requests go through my agent, BlueGoku
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2015, 09:01:08 PM »

try this, third or fourth post down

http://rshl.org/forums/index.php/topic,36689.0.html
Logged
thrill is super awkward and likely rubs it out to himself in the mirror

Bucky

  • the dude
  • Forum Administrator
  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2015, 05:00:58 PM »

Tried it Thrill and it didn't fix it.


I installed the leaked version from yesterday and the FPS is fixed. No audio in the games still.
Logged
interference - blackie cup champions - xvii | xix | xxi

Nax

  • Making a Name
  • *
  • Posts: 188
  • ______________
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2015, 09:45:09 PM »

Ah you get used to the no sound thing, about 6 or 7 years ago I disabled SS sound and music, and to this day I haven't looked back. It's one of the first things I change in options on a fresh SS install! Hopefully Windows fixes any of the issues that bleed over to ss though, once they finalize the os and give it some updates.
Logged

BluckaBlucka

  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2269
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2015, 10:06:05 PM »

Tried it Thrill and it didn't fix it.


I installed the leaked version from yesterday and the FPS is fixed. No audio in the games still.

you making sure the proper sound device is selected in games? I doubt that is the problem since default tends to be the right sound device but it is worth a look.
Logged
Hey, I am the greatest; hey, this is the proof
Hey, I work hard, pray hard, pay dues, hey
I transform with pressure; I'm hands-on with effort
I fell twice before; my bounce back was special
Letdowns will get you, and the critics will test you
But the strong will survive; another scar may bless you

Kula

  • HZ Media
  • Registered Posting Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 13280
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2015, 07:21:01 AM »

Did you turn your speakers on?
Logged

J-Walking

  • Common Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 724
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2015, 10:37:14 AM »

So, did all these issues with Continuum on W10 get resolved, Bucky?

I'm curious cause I might take advantage of the free upgrade to Windows 10 when it becomes available that all Windows users are being prompted by these days, but because HZ is the only game I occasionally play I don't really want to screw it up by switching OS. Sure, I could switch back, but I don't like wasting time/energy/effort on something that can be prevented beforehand.

Also, while I could (and probably should) just start a new thread about this...for those that have installed a 'leaked' version of W10, is it worth upgrading to (from 7, or 8.1)? Obviously different strokes for different folks, but in general...

Thanks!
Logged
hutt> hey
hutt> fb rules
hutt> it's just more for ADD ppl

Bucky

  • the dude
  • Forum Administrator
  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *****
  • Posts: 1161
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2015, 01:24:03 AM »

One of the later builds has fixed he issues with Continuum.

I like it better then Windows 8. To me it's a snapper Windows 7.
Logged
interference - blackie cup champions - xvii | xix | xxi

J-Walking

  • Common Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 724
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #16 on: July 23, 2015, 10:55:34 AM »

Thanks, Bucky!
Logged
hutt> hey
hutt> fb rules
hutt> it's just more for ADD ppl

Kula

  • HZ Media
  • Registered Posting Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 13280
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2015, 10:04:36 PM »

Hope so!
Logged

Artos

  • theres no cure for being a cunt
  • Zep gets 3 pers
  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2546
  • ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ
Re: Windows 10 + Continuum
« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2015, 01:01:39 AM »

just played rshl game with windows 10

can confirm it runs fine
Logged
i've been angrily fucking my ex for over 2 years now
I could probably play every position in TWHT at an above-average level.
 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 18 queries.