Subspace Hockey/Football Zone Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Firewire PCIe Card  (Read 480 times)

Leafy

  • BEND THE KNEE
  • My post count proves I'm better than you
  • *
  • Posts: 5463
Firewire PCIe Card
« on: February 19, 2017, 09:09:42 PM »

I'm looking to add a PCIe card to give my computer for 4 pin firewire capabilities.

I'm really unsure as to what is compatible I have a Z170 Motherboard and a Gigabyte 1070 in one of the PCIe spots.

Anyone know if if this pci card: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/2-1-3-PORT-1394-IEEE-FIREWIRE-PCI-E-PCI-EXPRESS-CONTROLLER-CARD-/140938192320?hash=item20d09225c0:g:OhgAAOSwPCVYBrq-  will be compatible with my comp?
Logged

-

-

-

Sting

  • RSFL Board of Directors
  • Common Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1080
Re: Firewire PCIe Card
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2017, 11:01:50 AM »

Shouldn't be an issue. PCI-e is only incompatible it you try to plug a newer version of PCI-e device into an older version port. Example: PCI-e 3.0 card into a 1.0 port. The MB has 3.0 Port and that would be a 1.0 card.
Logged


Leafy

  • BEND THE KNEE
  • My post count proves I'm better than you
  • *
  • Posts: 5463
Re: Firewire PCIe Card
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2017, 01:07:35 PM »

Shouldn't be an issue. PCI-e is only incompatible it you try to plug a newer version of PCI-e device into an older version port. Example: PCI-e 3.0 card into a 1.0 port. The MB has 3.0 Port and that would be a 1.0 card.

I have no idea what you just said but I bought this card and it works lol
Logged

-

-

-

Dr. Janky

  • Registered Posting Whore
  • *
  • Posts: 1337
    • xyst Facebook
Re: Firewire PCIe Card
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2017, 05:35:50 PM »

are you running on windows 10?  just curious because im looking for a firewire card that will work.  apparently it has to be a ti chipset for windows 10 to recognize it.
Logged

Leafy

  • BEND THE KNEE
  • My post count proves I'm better than you
  • *
  • Posts: 5463
Re: Firewire PCIe Card
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2017, 01:18:18 PM »

Yep I'm using Windows 10.

If you do get that card and it doesnt work initially try installing the Legacy drivers
Logged

-

-

-
 

Page created in 0.136 seconds with 19 queries.