Hockey/Football Zone Forums (Subspace | Continuum)

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Team Forums: If you need a RSHL, MSHL, or RSFL team forum, forum PM Kilo Dylie with the name of your team, and who will moderate the board.

Author Topic: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra  (Read 746 times)

gilder

  • Terrier Pilot
  • Making a Name
  • *
  • Posts: 355
  • Gekko lizard
Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« on: November 26, 2017, 10:58:19 PM »

I have had some problems since I updated to High Sierra. But I have solved all of them, so I'd like to share them with you.

Continuum doesn't start. Yey, one league game missed there. Solution: Upgrade your wine. I think I did it with wineskin. I did a lot of stuff so I'm not 100% sure what fixed it. Anyway, the old Continuum 0.40b app started working again.

Lagouts every 10 mins. Yey, lagged out 3 times in a league game as a goalie. Solution: Disable location services while you play. Processes airportd and locationd appear every ~10 mins to update your location. Might be because of Where Is My Mac or some other feature like that.

Ok, I'm back in business!
Logged

Who is Lorik?

Kula

  • HZ Media
  • Registered Posting Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 13696
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 08:11:19 AM »

Thanks Gilder, I think Stryke was having a similar issue.
Logged

zero seven

  • RSFL Captain
  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2705
  • :D
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2017, 02:45:11 PM »

Good idea on disabling location services.

I was able to use Porting Kit after struggling to get Wine to work when I switched to High Sierra.
Logged
it's not as if i am the only person on my team with my brain.

Stryke

  • RSHL Referee
  • Common Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1075
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2017, 06:29:41 PM »

Hey, yeah I had this same issue last night -- solution for me was pretty simple once I found a forum post on a completely unrelated game:

1. Go to Continuum 0.40b.app in your Applications folder, right click, and hit Show Package Contents
2. Open Wineskin
3. Hit "Set Screen Options"
4. Uncheck Auto Detect GPU Info for Direct3D

This had the incidental side-effect of also fixing my FPS issue (I was being capped at 30), which I appreciated.
Logged

Rinnegan

  • : D
  • HZ Media
  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 3135
  • : D
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2017, 04:14:32 PM »

mine gives me error that says I can't not only open a read only from a dmg or wtv
Logged
bobbarker such an asshole, here we are trying to console linix over the death of his real pet, and you bring up mother fucking cats of all things

who cares if your cats die they're cats, i didnt cry when my pet fish

stevewhitmer

  • RSFL Board of Directors
  • Registered Posting Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 14380
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2017, 06:33:25 PM »

Hey, yeah I had this same issue last night -- solution for me was pretty simple once I found a forum post on a completely unrelated game:

1. Go to Continuum 0.40b.app in your Applications folder, right click, and hit Show Package Contents
2. Open Wineskin
3. Hit "Set Screen Options"
4. Uncheck Auto Detect GPU Info for Direct3D

This had the incidental side-effect of also fixing my FPS issue (I was being capped at 30), which I appreciated.

I moved to my laptop as I was having this same FPS issue. I'll give this a shot. Thanks!
Logged

stevewhitmer

  • RSFL Board of Directors
  • Registered Posting Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 14380
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2018, 07:28:43 PM »

Any other idea fixing some FPS issues? I still haven't updated to the newest OS but I can't think that's my issue with Continuum. Can't seem to break 50 when I used to be 120.

Edit: attempting the High Sierra upgrade anyway. Looks like I was able to get up to 60 fps but only on an extremely crap resolution
« Last Edit: February 18, 2018, 07:47:55 PM by stevewhitmer »
Logged

Abvolt

  • Cya
  • My post count proves I'm better than you
  • *
  • Posts: 4308
  • no morals
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2018, 10:25:54 AM »

Any other idea fixing some FPS issues? I still haven't updated to the newest OS but I can't think that's my issue with Continuum. Can't seem to break 50 when I used to be 120.

Edit: attempting the High Sierra upgrade anyway. Looks like I was able to get up to 60 fps but only on an extremely crap resolution

check to see if page flipping is a setting that is checkmarked, might help. think it helped nax w fps issues. otherwise reinstalling works on mine if the fps is hamster wheelin.
Logged
He was vilified for speaking out but he was the real MSHL GOAT

stevewhitmer

  • RSFL Board of Directors
  • Registered Posting Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 14380
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2018, 10:49:04 AM »

I'll have to see. I haven't been able to get continuum running since the OS upgrade. Need to get rid of wine and start from scratch I think. Did a search for 07's suggested port app but I couldn't find the appropriate download for it I think. Haven't spent a lot of time on it tbh though. Had some success on my new laptop.
Logged

zero seven

  • RSFL Captain
  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2705
  • :D
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2018, 10:55:27 AM »

http://portingkit.com/en/download

With this method I hover around 30fps and only get 50 in Low activity on screen.
Logged
it's not as if i am the only person on my team with my brain.

Abvolt

  • Cya
  • My post count proves I'm better than you
  • *
  • Posts: 4308
  • no morals
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2018, 12:25:51 PM »

@ steve - try showing the contents for continuum, selecting the wineskin app and i think advanced options running out of xquartz, thats the only way it opens for me.

@ 07 - if you port it do you get to create an ignore.txt? can you alt+tab?
Logged
He was vilified for speaking out but he was the real MSHL GOAT

zero seven

  • RSFL Captain
  • Inspiration to Trolls Everywhere
  • *
  • Posts: 2705
  • :D
Re: Continuum on Mac OS X High Sierra
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2018, 07:07:05 PM »

I havent spent any time recently trying to open package contents on Mac. I think the assumption is if you're playing on a Mac you're not going to be able to edit ship graphics, edit ignore.txt, have log files, etc. Just a pain in the ass to find w/ the way these wineskin wrappers work.

Alt Tab doesnt work in my experience. I play windowed.

Then you have the stupid shit like not being able to use macros without re-mapping since you need to hit function first to use F keys.

99% sure the Mac versions don't support n-key rollover (hit 3 keys at the same time).

So basically dont play on a mac it sucks.
Logged
it's not as if i am the only person on my team with my brain.
 

Page created in 0.046 seconds with 17 queries.